品牌设计理念

与酿制新款啤酒一样,当我们在为一种全新事物量身打造品牌设计的时候,并不完全像科学研究那样具备可参考性。因为科学结论往往都是在既定的客观事实下才姗姗来迟的。所以,品牌设计与精酿啤酒既需在精心的筹备以及反复不断的试验中才能够完美而有机的创造并结合在一起。

在设计的初期阶段,我们十分欣然地接受犯错。为了能够给所选定的佳酿赋予最独具一格的标志,酿酒师们与品牌设计师们在觥筹交错之间愉悦而激昂地进行了大量的讨论工作。而大跃旗下并非所有产品都能够做到款款孤标独步–只有那些经历了市场历练以及被客户高度认可的佳酿才能最终被赋予精美的品牌标识。

大跃啤酒创始人高泰山和刘芳为每一款佳酿冠以卓尔不群的中英双语名称。例如大跃的IPA系列,均得名于那些既不被法定政府亦不被地方军阀所承认的著名军事将领。其它的佳酿则有些得名于民间传说,有些是地方志以及自身特别的中国风配方。每一款佳酿名称背后的故事都如它们所蕴含的风味与原料一样,饱满而又具有内涵。

中英文字体都来自于20世纪中期的宣传海报上扎眼且强悍的印刷体。设计的每个元素都从纸上剪切下来,带来了木刻风格的样式。然后我们扫描它们并对图像进行矢量化,方便我们使用在不同界面和任意更改尺寸。

我们的设计流程结合了古老中西方的手工艺方法与最先进的设计软件技术,这与大跃使用传统原料与创新酿酒技术酿造世界一流的啤酒有异曲同工之妙。

简单总结来说,这是为精心酿制的中国啤酒所做的同样精心的中国品牌设计,带着些许西方的微调。这样的哲学虽然简单,但是贯穿着我们创造这些品牌的始终。

BRANDING PHILOSOPHY

Like brewing, design is not an exact science when creating something for the first time. The science comes later – only after careful planning and experimentation can a brand design or beer style be perfected and crafted for consistency.

Mistakes are encouraged in the early phases. Discussions alter between cheerful and heated as brewer and designer share pints of the selected beer, both artists seeking to crown the brew with its own unique identity. Not every Great Leap brew boasts its own brand. Beers must first stand the test of time and prove consistently popular amongst drinkers before being bestowed with a design.

Great Leap founders Carl and Liu Fang create names for the beers, with unique meanings in both Chinese and English. Our series of General IPAs are named after famous military personnel, both those sanctioned by formal governments and warlord states alike. Other beer names are derived from traditional folklore, local history or their unique Chinese ingredients. The stories behind the brands are as rich as the flavors and ingredients contained within the beer they represent.

Both the custom English typeface and the Chinese character design are rooted in the robust and formidable typography used in mid 20th century propaganda posters. Each element of the design is cut from paper, leading to the “woodcut” style of the illustration. We then scan and vectorize the images so we can use the identities at any size and on any surface.

Our design process combines the craftsmanship of ancient Chinese and Western methods with the latest technology in design software – much in the same way that Great Leap incorporates traditional ingredients and innovative brewing techniques as they strive to brew world-class brands of beer.

Simply put, it’s hand-crafted Chinese design for hand-crafted Chinese beer – with a Western twist here and there. This philosophy is simple but fundamental to everything that is created for the brand.